DMK announces candidates for RS polls

Chennai: DMK has announced the candidates for Rajya Sabha, which include party strongman ‘Tiruchi’ Siva being renominated for the 26 March polls.”Anthiyur Selvaraj and N R Elango are the other two candidates to contest in the polls”, party president M K Stalin

Six Rajya Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu are falling vacant in April following the retirement of several members from the Upper House.

The MPs who would complete their terms are AIADMK’s S Muthukaruppan, A K Selvaraj and Vijila Sathyanath and expelled AIADMK MP Sasikala Pushpa, who recently joined the BJP.

DMK’s Tiruchi Siva and CPI(M)’s T K Rangarajan are the other two.

The ruling AIADMK is yet to announce its candidates for the polls.

According to the Election Commission, the notification would be issued on 6 March, the last date for filing of nominations is 13 March. Polling is on 26 March.The votes would be counted on the same day.