AIADMK names former LS Dy Speaker Thambidurai

Chennai: The AIADMK today named former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai and another senior leader K P Munusamy as its candidates for the biennial election to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

The ruling party allotted one seat to ally Tamil Maanila Congress and its chief G K Vaasan will be the candidate.In a party release, AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and Chief Minister and co-coordinator K Palaniswami named Thambidurai and Munusamy and allotted one seat to the TMC.

The release said Vaasan, chief of TMC, will be the candidate for the Rajya Sabha elections.

On 2 April, six Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu will retire and the DMK days ago named three nominees including its sitting MP in the upper house, ‘Tiruchy’ Siva.

Based on the strength of the ruling party and main opposition DMK and their respective allies in the Assembly, all the six candidates are likely to be elected unopposed. Elections will be held on 26 March in the unlikely event of a contest.