New Chairman appointed for UPSC

Pradeep Kumar Joshi

New Delhi: Educationist Professor Pradeep Kumar Joshi was today appointed as the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

Joshi is currently a member in the Commission, that conducts the civil services examination to select India’s bureaucrats and diplomats among others.

He will succeed Arvind Saxena who completes his term as UPSC chairman on Friday, officials said.

Joshi, who was the chairman of both Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh Public Service Commissions, joined the UPSC as member in May 2015.

His tenure as the chairman of the UPSC will be till 12 May, 2021. With his appointment as the Chairman, there is a vacancy of a member in the UPSC.


NT Bureau