Khel Ratna Award for Mariappan

Mariappan Thangavelu

Chennai: Cricketer Rohit Sharma is among the 5 athletes who will receive India’s highest sporting honour – Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for 2020.

Along with Rohit Sharma, Asian Games gold medalist Vinesh Phogat, table tennis champion Manika Batra, India hockey women’s captain Rani Rampal and Paralympic gold medalist Mariappan Thangavelu will also get the Khel Ratna Award.

The decision comes after the National Sports Awards selection committee met on Tuesday for deciding the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna and other national sports awards.

The committee, which includes Virender Sehwag and Sardar Singh, met at Sports Authority of India headquarters in New Delhi.


NT Bureau