Bihar Assembly polls dates announced

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced the schedule for Bihar Assembly polls 2020.

Voting will be held in three phases – 28 October, 3 and 7 November – while counting of all votes will take place on 10 November.  The term of the 243-member Bihar legislative assembly comes to an end on 29 November.

In the last Bihar assembly elections, the JD(U), the RJD and the Congress had contested together under the Grand Alliance and formed the government with absolute majority. However the JD(U) later broke away from the alliance and formed the government in Bihar by joining hands with the BJP.

According to Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, “Elections entail large scale deployment of security forces. We have tried to minimise their movement over long distance”.

“All elections meetings will be monitored by election and health officials. Public gatherings can take place following social distancing norms. The District Election Officers will decide on the number of people allowed in such gatherings,” he said.


NT Bureau