East Bengal joins ISL

Mumbai: The official announcement by ISL organiser Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL) on Sunday came less than a month after West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee revealed that city-based Shree Cement would be the club’s major stakeholders.

It is such a happy and proud moment for ISL as we welcome East Bengal FC and their millions of fans into the league, said Nita Ambani, founder and chairperson of FSDL. With East Bengal following in the footsteps of its arch-rival Mohun Bagan (which has merged with defending champion ATK), ISL now has 11 teams.

The announcement paves way for FSDL to announce the detailed fixtures of the 2020-21 season, which will be held entirely in Goa due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.