‘Sex video’: 6 Karnataka Ministers move court against media

Bengaluru: Six Karnataka Ministers have moved a Bangaluru court seeking to restrain media organisations from publishing or airing any ‘defamatory or unauthenticated’ material against them.

The move by the Ministers came after their former colleague, Ramesh Jarkiholi, was forced to resign after a video of him in compromising positions with a woman went viral.

Labour Minister Shivaram Hebbar, Agriculture Minister B C Patil, Cooperative Minister S T Somashekar, Health, Family Welfare and Medical Education Minister K Sudhakar, Youth Empowerment and Sports Minister K C Narayana Gowda and Urban Development Minister Byrathi Basavaraj are the six ministers of Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa’s government who moved court on Friday.

Meanwhile, former Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy claimed on Friday that blackmailers had demanded Rs 5 crore from Ramesh Jarkiholi before releasing an alleged video recording of him.

‘I have credible information that a Rs 5-crore deal was struck. The video was leaked after the deal went awry. The police should investigate and arrest the blackmailers; everything will come out in the open then,’ he said.