Direct fight between AIADMK, DMK in 129 constituencies

Chennai: With the DMK releasing its candidates list on Friday, it has emerged that the party will take on the ruling AIADMK candidates in 129 constituencies and 14 candidates of the BJP among others.

In all 187 candidates (including 14 of allies) will contest on the DMK’s ‘Rising Sun’ symbol. As many as 13 sitting MLAs were denied tickets.

The DMK has fielded T Sampath Kumar to take on Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami in Edappadi constituency in Salem district.

It has nominated Thanga Tamilselvan in Bodinayakkanur where Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam is contesting again.

Releasing the list of candidates, DMK president M K Stalin said there were 13 women candidates in the fray.

He said candidates of MDMK, Kongunadu Makkal Desiya Katchi, Tamilaga Vazhurimai Katchi, All India Forward Bloc, Adi Tamizahga Peravai, Makkal Viduthalai Katchi and one candidate of Manithaneya Makkal Katchi will contest under the ‘Rising Sun’ symbol.

“This is not merely the candidate’s list. It is a list of victors,” he added. Accusing the AIADMK government of destroying the state in the last ten years, Stalin told reporters that Tamilnadu would see a new dawn (after the election).

“We enter the fray with a new confidence and faith,” he added. There are no surprises in the list as the party, as expected, has fielded senior leaders, including former Ministers and MLAs, in their respective constituencies from where they were elected in the last polls and in the past. There were also some new faces in the list.


NT Bureau