Stalin to meet Governor today to stake claim to form govt

Chennai: Two days after leading the DMK to power, its president M K Stalin was on Tuesday evening elected as the Legislature Party (LP) Leader.

At a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs held at DMK party office Anna Arivalayam, a resolution, electing Stalin as the LP leader, was adopted unanimously.

DMK general secretary Duraimurugan proposed the name of Stalin as the LP leader and it was seconded by the MLAs.

Armed with the LP resolution, Chief Minister-designate Stalin will meet Tamilnadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit at the Raj Bhavan today, submit the list of his Council of Ministers and stake his claim to form the next government.

On the invitation of the Governor, Stalin will be sworn in as the Chief Minister for the first time at a simple function–in view of the Covidpandemic–to be held at Raj Bhavan on 7 May.

In the single phase elections held on 6 April, the DMK, riding on the silent anti-incumbency factor against the AIADMK regime, stormed back to power after a gap of ten years.

The DMK-led Front won 159 of the total 234 seats in the polls. While the DMK won 133 seats (including six by its allies who had contested on DMK’s Rising Sun symbol), the Congress and VCK won 18 and four seats respectively.

DMK’s other allies CPI and CPI(M) bagged two seats each. The remaining 75 seats were bagged by the AIADMK-led Front.

The AIADMK won 66 seats, while its allies PMK
and BJP won five and four seats respectively.

This is the first Assembly election faced by the DMK and AIADMK in the absence of two tall leaders– former DMK chief M Karunanidhi and J Jayalalithaa of AIADMK.

NT Bureau