4 BJP MLAs enter Assembly, State chief promises them new cars

Chennai: The BJP today entered the Tamilnadu Assembly after a gap of two decades.

Veteran leader Gandhi (Nagercoil), BJP’s National Women’s wing president Vanathi Srinivasan (Coimbatore South), former Minister Nainar Nagendran (Tirunelveli) and CK Saraswathi (Modakurichi) were the BJP winners this time.

BJP State president L Murugan has said the four legislators would be gifted with brand new Innova cars.

Nainar Nagendran has been elected as the legislature party leader in the Tamilnadu Assembly.

Nagendran, who was elected from the Tirunelveli constituency by a margin of over 23,000 votes, was elected at a meeting of party MLAs held at BJP headquarters Kamalalayam.

The BJP had entered the Tamil Nadu Assembly for the first time in 1996 when C Velayudham managed to win from Padmanabhapuram seat in the Kanyakumari constituency.

In 2001, they allied with DMK and contested in as many as 21 seats. and managed to win four and entered the Assembly for the second time.

However, after the 2001 elections, BJP drew a blank in 2006, 2011 and 2016. In the 6 April, 2021 Assembly polls, the party had won four of the 20 seats it had contested as an ally of the AIADMK.


NT Bureau