TN civic polls: First list of DMK candidates out

Chennai: The first list of DMK candidates for the upcoming rural local body polls has been released.

Minister T M Anbarasan, who is the district secretary, released the list of candidates who will contest from Kancheepuram and Chengalpet districts.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has rejected a plea seeking seven months time to conduct local
body polls.

Hearing the plea, the Court said that when Lok Sabha election and Assembly elections are conducted, why does the State Election Commission seek time to conduct local body polls.

In response to this, the State Election Commission said that four months time will be enough to conduct the urban local body elections.

The Court has asked the SEC to file an affidavit within two days on why time is needed to conduct the election.

Earlier in the day, Minister K N Nehru said that there is a delay in conducting urban local body polls as six new Corporations and 29 new Municipalities have been formed. He said that the SEC will soon announce the election dates.

In the meantime, PMK which had recently announced that it would contest alone in the local body polls has once again initiated alliance talks with AIADMK.

The rural local body polls in the nine newly created districts will be held in two phases on 6 and 9 October. The counting of votes will take place on 12 October.

A total of 76,59,720 voters would exercise their franchise in the two phase polls. As many as 1.10 lakh government employees would be engaged in poll duty.


NT Bureau