Police stations divided between three city Commissionerates

Chennai: Days after Additional Director-Generals of Police M Ravi and Sandeep Rai Rathore were posted as special officers for the formation of Police Commissionerates in Tambaram and Avadi, carved out of Greater Chennai Police Commissionerate, Director-General of Police C Sylendra Babu has issued modalities for trifurcation.

The final jurisdiction after the trifurcation of Greater Chennai police Commissionerate shows that five police stations each from Chengalpattu and Tiruvallur districts, and two from Kancheepuram are being annexed to the newly formed Tambaram and Avadi police Commissionerates.

The Greater Chennai police will have 104 police stations, including the one at Chennai Airport, under its jurisdiction following the trifurcation of the Greater Chennai city Commissionerate. The city earlier had 137 police stations under its limits.

Twenty taluk stations would form part of Avadi Commissionerate and 13 taluk stations would be under the Tambaram Commissionerate. The Avadi Commissionerate would have 25 police stations, and Tambaram, 20 taluk stations.

The 20 police stations under Tambaram CoP are Tambaram, Chromepet, Pallavaram, Selaiyur, Chitlapakkam, Peerkankaranai, Kundrathur, Sankar Nagar, Perumbakkam, Pallikaranai, Kannagi Nagar, Semmencherry, Kanathur, and two stations from Kancheepuram — Somangalam and Manimangalm — along with Chengalpattu, Kelambakkam, Otteri (near Vandalur), Gunduvancherry, Maraimalar Nagar and Thalambur.

Twenty police stations, which previously belonged to Chennai police, would be shifted to Avadi Commissionerate.

They include Avadi, Milk Colony, Red Hills, Manali, Manali New Town, Sathangadu, Ennore, Poonamallee, Nazarthpet, Muthapudupet, Pattabhiram, Ambattur, Ambattur Estate, Korattur, Thiruverkadu, SRMC, Tank Factory, Thirumullaivoyal and Thiruninravur.

The Avadi Commissionerate would include Vellavedu, Sevvapet, Sholavaram, Minjur and Kattur from Tiruvallur district.

NT Bureau