Think wisely before casting your vote: Modi to people

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today urged people to think wisely before casting their vote and attacked the Congress, alleging that the grand old party believed in insulting institutions, including Parliament, judiciary, media and the armed forces, when it was in power. Continue Reading

AIADMK, DMK field 2014 contestants in Kanchipuram again

Known as ‘Silk City’, Kanchipuram Lok Sabha constituency came into existence after 2008. Indian National Congress’ Perumal, Shri Viswanathan was the first MP of the constituency, he was succeeded by AIADMK’s Maragatham. Continue Reading

2019 LS polls: Sumalatha to contest as independent from Mandya

After days of speculation whether late Congress leader M H Ambareesh’s wife and actor Sumalatha would be contesting the coming elections with the support of BJP, she announced yesterday that she will contest from Mandya seat as an independent candidate and that she would file her nomination from Mandya on 20 March. Continue Reading

PMK unveils manifesto, vows to protect State rights

PMK founder Dr S Ramadoss today released his party’s 94-page manifesto for the 2019 general election which places special focus on ‘State autonomy’, ‘bringing back lost rights of Tamilnadu’ and ‘to make India strong’. Continue Reading

Polls: Travel expenditure exempted for 40 leaders in each party

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has exempted a maximum of 20 leaders in each unrecognised political party and 40 in each recognised party of travel expenses from their parties’ election expenses. Continue Reading