Editorial: Troubled times

The Nationalist Congress Party, the Trinamool Congress and Communist Party of India now face the prospect of losing their national party status following their performance in the Lok Sabha elections. Continue Reading

2019 polls: Pragya Thakur, Azam Khan among controversial candidates who won

BJP put up a very impressive show by winning the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Controversial candidates such as Pragya Singh Thakur of BJP and Azam Khan of SP won in their respective seats. Continue Reading

2019 general elections: TN CM turns down exit polls

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami today said the exit polls results that said AIADMK will get less seats in the Lok Sabha elections are not ‘karuthu kanippu but karuthu thinippu’ (forced opinion). Continue Reading

Congress leader in AP claims Rahul Gandhi will be next PM

AICC secretary C D Meyyappan said Congress president Rahul Gandhi would become the next Prime Minister and the party would get more than 170 Lok Sabha seats in the elections this year. Continue Reading

2019 polls: Countdown starts for counting; EC officials hold meeting

Officials, leaders and cadres are getting ready for the big day – 23 May – when the votes polled in Lok Sabha elections will be counted. Continue Reading

BJP brought peace to northeast: Amit Shah

BJP president Amit Shah today said the Narendra Modi-led government has ensured peace and development in the northeast, which was roiled by militant activities even five years ago. Continue Reading

Know your constituency: Tiruchi – Here fight is between DMDK, Congress

AIADMK has won three out of the last four elections held in Tiruchi constituency. AIADMK P Kumar is the incumbent MP of the constituency. He also emerged victorious in the 2009 election. Continue Reading

2019 polls: Congress unveils manifesto, Rahul calls it voice of people

The Congress today released its manifesto for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections with its president Rahul Gandhi describing it as the ‘voice of people’. Continue Reading

2019 LS polls: Curtains down on filing of nominations

Several candidates including DMK’s Central Chennai contestant Dayanidhi Maaran filed their nominations as today is the last day to submit the papers to contest in the Lok Sabha elections and by-poll for the 18 Assembly constituencies. Continue Reading