From RK Nagar, why Dhinakaran decided to contest from Kovilpatti

AMMK founder and R K Nagar MLA TTV Dhinakaran on Thursday announced that he would contest from Kovilpatti constituency in the southern Virudhunagar district in the 6 April Assembly polls. Continue Reading

EPS, OPS will decide on AIADMK-AMMK merger: Minister

Days ahead of arrival of expelled AIADMK leader V K Sasikala to Chennai, senior Minister O S Manian today said the party’s leadership will decide on the merger of AIADMK and AMMK. Continue Reading

Palaniswami, Paneerselvam lead silent rally on Jaya anniversary

The ruling AIADMK in Tamilnadu today took out a silent procession and paid floral tributes at the memorial of former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on the occasion of her third death anniversary. Continue Reading

TN Speaker can’t act on AIADMK MLAs issue, says Stalin

“I have given a letter, a resolution seeking Speaker’s removal and according to a Supreme Court ruling, Dhanapal cannot take any action (on the MLAs issue) when a move is pending against him,” said DMK president M K Stalin yesterday. Continue Reading

Four AIADMK MLAs to be disqualified?

AIADMK MLAs Aranthangi E A Rathinasabapathi, Kallakurichi A Prabhu, Virudhachalam V T Kalaichelvan along with alliance party legislator Karunaas are likely to get notices from Speaker P Dhanapal asking why they should not be disqualified. Continue Reading

SC directs EC to allot common symbol to AMMK candidates

In a bitter-sweet verdict for AMMK, the Supreme Court refused to acknowledge the TTV Dhinakaran-led outfit’s claim for the cooker symbol, but, granted the party’s request for its candidates to contest under a common symbol. Continue Reading