Durai Murugan, Periyasami, Moorthy, Sakkarapani inspect Mullaiperiyar dam

The water storage capacity of the Mullaiperiyar dam will be increased to 142 feet from the existing 139.05 feet after 30 November, said Tamilnadu Water Minister Durai Murugan. Continue Reading

Durai Murugan, T R Baalu elected unopposed as DMK GS, treasurer

DMK veterans Durai Murugan and T R Baalu have been elected unopposed as the party’s general secretary and treasurer, respectively. Continue Reading

Moderate polling in Lok Sabha election amid tight security in Vellore

The elections witness a three-cornered contest, though the main fight will be between the AIADMK and DMK. The third nominee in the fray is Deepalakshmi of Naam Thamizhar Katchi of actor-director Seeman. Counting of votes would be taken up 9 August. Continue Reading

Vellore Lok Sabha constituency election: Voting begins on slow note

The election, earlier scheduled for 18 April, was rescinded following seizure of cash from the premises of DMK candidate Kathir Anand, who is also the son of DMK treasurer and former minister Durai Murugan. Continue Reading

Vellore Lok Sabha seat election is prestige issue for CM & Stalin

he Vellore Lok Sabha election, slated for 5 August, is seen not just as a fight for a place in Parliament but also as an opportunity for the Dravidian giants to show their popularity among the people. Continue Reading

TN CM Palaniswami asserts himself like his leader Jayalalithaa

In these last 2.5 years, Palaniswami, the joint coordinator of the AIADMK, has proved that he is a fast learner, both in government and political dynamics. And, the recently-concluded Assembly session has conveyed a message to his opponents, critics and supporters – that EPS has clearly emerged as a leader, someone who can give rivals a run for their money. Continue Reading

Tamilnadu parties planning horse-trading post 23 May?

While the AIADMK is keen to retain power, the Opposition DMK is determined to make a comeback at Fort St George after the results of by-elections in 22 constituencies are announced 23 May. Continue Reading