World leaders to attend Modi swearing-in ceremony Thursday

This will be the fourth time that a Prime Minister is administered oath of office in the Rashtrapati Bhavan’s forecourt. The ceremony, traditionally, takes place at Darbar Hall. Continue Reading

Congress MP Vasanthakumar gives up MLA post, submits resignation

While there was speculation yesterday about Vasanthakumar giving up his MLA post, this morning, he met Speaker S Dhanapal and tendered his resignation. Continue Reading

Model Code of Conduct comes to an end, it is work as usual in TN

Following this, government officials who were involved in election duty have returned to their offices from today. Continue Reading

Who will head BJP now with Amit Shah certain to find Cabinet berth?

The buzz is that among the names being considered is former Union Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman’s. Sources say that it would be a tactical move for it would be seen as empowering women. Continue Reading

AIADMK gets ready to be part of Modi’s Union Cabinet

“Two MPs of the AIADMK are likely be given ministerial berths. EPS and OPS have been asked to name them. In all likelihood, senior leader V Vaithilingam and Panneerselvam’s son O P Raveendranath Kumar will become Union Ministers,” sources say. Continue Reading

Modi performs rituals at Kasi Viswanathar temple at Varanasi

A battery of photographers thronged the temple to record Modi’s visit to Kasi Viswanathar temple. A giant TV screen was fixed outside the temple for people to view the rituals being performed inside. Continue Reading

No question of Rahul Gandhi quitting as prez: MP Thirunavukkarasar

Speaking to mediapersons after garlanding the Nehru statue in the city on his death anniversary, the Congress leader said the party has seen many ups and downs and it would rise again. Continue Reading

CM Palaniswami, Panneerselvam to attend Modi swearing-in ceremony

Tamilnadu Chief Minister and co-coordinator of the AIADMK, Edappadi K Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister and co-ordinator of AIADMK, O Panneerselvam, will be attending the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi 30 May 7 pm. Continue Reading

Modi visiting Varanasi to thank BJP cadres, people for his victory

Modi would then be taking out a victory rally to thank the people of the constituency who voted for him. Elaborate arrangements are being made for the whole show.  Continue Reading

Country’s richest candidate in 2019 general elections loses deposit

According to Election Commission data, Sharma lost his deposit as he secured only 1,556 votes. He had declared a net asset of Rs 1,107 crore in his papers submitted at the time of nomination. Continue Reading