2019 polls: cVIGIL app receives 2,085 complaints

Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo said the cVIGIL app has received 2,085 complaints in the State and action has been taken on 899 complaints. Inquiry has started on 40 complaints and others have been dropped. The app was launched to register complaints with regard to poll violation, including money distribution. Continue Reading

2019 Polls: Election to be cancelled in Vellore, Ambur, Gudiyattam?

A decision on cancellation of polling in Vellore Lok Sabha constituency and by-election in Ambur and Gudiyattam Assembly constituencies will be taken by Election Commission of India, Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo said today. Continue Reading

I-T unearths big money in Vellore; Seizure linked to Durai Murugan

“The massive money was kept to bribe voters. The plan was to hand over the cash to representatives of each constituency and then distribute it to the voters. The raid is headed by officials from Delhi.” Continue Reading

2019 Polls: 932 nominations accepted, says TN CEO

Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo today said 932 nominations for Lok Sabha elections and 305 applications for the 18 Assembly constituencies by-poll have been accepted.  Continue Reading

Money won’t be seized if there are proper documents: EC

Tamilnadu Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo today said money will not be seized if there are proper documents. Addressing mediapersons at the Secretariat here, he said, if money is being carried with proper documents it will not be seized by the officials under the Election Model Code of Conduct. Continue Reading

TN By-elections to 18 Assembly seats on 18 April

Tamilnadu Chief Electoral Officer, Satyabrata Sahoo yesterday announced that along with the Lok sabha elections, the by-elections to 18 assembly seats would be held on 18 April. The results would be announced on 23 May. Continue Reading

Tiruvarur by-poll: All-party meet called in TN

Tiruvarur Collector and District Election Officer (DEO) L Nirmal Raj has called for an all-party meet in view of the 28 January by-election. Continue Reading