BJP non-committal over CM candidate in Tamilnadu

At a time when the ruling AIADMK has been asserting that Chief Minister Edpppadi K Palaniswami is the CM candidate for the ensuring Assembly polls, its ally, the BJP today said the NDA coordination committee would take a final call on the CM. Continue Reading

TN polls: EC’s special concession for 80-above & differently-abled voters

Election Commission of India Secretary General Umesh Sinha on Tuesday said, the EC would make arrangements to allow postal voting for voters about 80 years of age and differently-abled people. Continue Reading

Congress eyes on ‘winnable seats’ in Tamilnadu

In lieu of the Assembly elections in the State, Rahul Gandhi on Monday chaired Congress meetings on election preparations. Continue Reading

DVAC raids Tamilnadu government offices, seizes huge money

Ahead of Assembly elections in the State and with the festival season kicking in, officials of Directorate of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption (DVAC) carried out raids to unearth illegal or unaccounted cash in Tamilnadu government offices. Continue Reading

TIK to contest all 234-seats in TN Assembly polls

The Tamil Nadu Ilangyar Katchi (TIK), a political outfit formed in the aftermath of the massive Marina Jallikattu protest in January 2017, has announced that it would contest all the 234 seats in the Assembly elections due in April-May next year. Continue Reading

Stage set for 2019 polls in TN; 1.4 lakh cops for security

For the first time, Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) will be used in all the polling booths, along with the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), which were despatched to the booths today Continue Reading

2019 bypolls: DMK names candidates for 4 Assembly seats

DMK president M K Stalin today named candidates for by-elections in four Assembly constituencies slated to be held 19 May. Continue Reading