2019 elections: What will happen in Tamilnadu politics after 23 May?

The continuance of the AIADMK government, led by Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, which is already surviving on a wafer-thin majority, will be decided 23 May. In the 234-member House, Palaniswami needs the support of at least 118 MLAs for a simple majority. Continue Reading

Twists & turns

The Lok Sabha elections are over in Tamilnadu and so are the by-elections to 18 Assembly seats. Come 19 May, four more Assembly constituencies will go for polls. Continue Reading

AIADMK names candidates for 19 May by-elections

The AIADMK today announced Muniyandi, V P Kandhasamy, K Mohan and Senthilnathan as the candidates for the by-polls to be held in Tiurpparankundram, Sulur, Ottapidaram and Aravakurichi constituencies, respectively. Continue Reading

Retd professor replaces Thangkabalu as Rahul’s translator

After the raft of memes about former TNCC president K V Thangkabalu’s mis-translation of Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s speech at Nagercoil, the party has changed the translator. Continue Reading

Know your constituency: Arani – Will Elumalai retain his seat?

The Arani Lok Sabha constituency was created during the 2008 delimitation from Vandavasi constituency.
Indian National Congress’ M Krishnasamy won the first election in the constituency in 2009. Continue Reading

Know your constituency: Vellore – AIADMK, DMK to show their might

The Vellore Lok Sabha constituency is one of the most happening seat especially after the seizure of about Rs 32 crore from here. Continue Reading

2019 Polls: 932 nominations accepted, says TN CEO

Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo today said 932 nominations for Lok Sabha elections and 305 applications for the 18 Assembly constituencies by-poll have been accepted.  Continue Reading

HC seeks EC’s reply by 22 Jan on by-polls to 18 TN Assembly constituencies

The Madurai bench of the Madras High Court has issued notice to the Election Commission, directing to file its reply before 22 January on a petition seeking to conduct by-elections in 18 Assembly constituencies in Tamilnadu. Continue Reading