AIADMK celebrates victory in Nanguneri, Vikravandi

Deepavali arrived early for those in the AIADMK, so to speak, as the ruling party established early leads during the counting of votes polled in the by-elections to two Assembly seats Nanguneri and Vikravandi today. Continue Reading

By-elections in Tamilnadu: Countdown starts for counting

With the counting of votes polled in the Nanguneri and Vikravandi by-elections to be held tomorrow, three-tier protection has been given to the counting centres. Continue Reading

Polling begins in two Assembly seats in TN, lone seat in Puducherry

Amid tight security, polling began in two Assembly constituencies in Tamilnadu and one segment in neighbouring Puducherry as voters turned up enthusiastically to cast their votes early in the day. Continue Reading

Case slapped on DMK MLA for possessing cash to distribute to voters

With just three days left for the Nanguneri by-poll, a case has been filed against seven people including DMK MLA Saravana Kumar for possessing cash, allegedly meant to be distributed to voters in the southern constituency. Continue Reading

Palaniswami reaches Kerala, vows to protect TN’s water rights

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami expressed hope that all problems regarding the sharing of water between Kerala and Tamilnadu will be solved during his meeting with his Kerala counterpart Pinarayi Vijayan later today in Thiruvananthapuram. Continue Reading

AIADMK announces candidates for Assembly by-polls

The ruling AIADMK today announced its nominees for the 21 October Assembly bypolls to two seats in Tamilnadu. Continue Reading

Vikravandi, Nanguneri by-poll 21 October

The Election Commission of India today announced that by-elections for Vikravandi and Nanguneri Assembly constituencies in Tamilnadu will be held 21 October. Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said the counting will take place on 24 October. Continue Reading