TN BJP LS candidate list out; Tamilisai pitted against Kanimozhi

The BJP released the first list of candidates for the 18 April Lok Sabha elections yesterday. The list of 184 candidates was released by senior party leader of the party J P Nadda at a press conference.

The party’s Tamilnadu unit chief Tamilisai Soundararajan will contest from Thoothukudi and has been pitted against DMK’s K Kanimozhi.

The party’s former president C P Radhakrishnan will contest from Coimbatore. He was a two-time member of the Lok Sabha.

The party’s national secretary H Raja and former State Minister Nainar Nagendran have been fielded from Sivaganga and Ramanathapuram constituencies, respectively. It is to be noted that Nagendran had quit the AIADMK and joined the BJP in 2017.

Pon Radhakrishnan, Union Minister of State for Finance and Shipping, has been renominated to Kanyakumari constituency seat.

NT Bureau