Know your constituency: Vellore – AIADMK, DMK to show their might

Chennai: The Vellore Lok Sabha constituency is one of the most happening seat especially after the seizure of about Rs 32 crore from here.

The ECI has said that it will take a call whether it will conduct polls in the constituency after going through the report.

AIADMK has won the seat in 1984 in which A C Shanmugam emerged winner. He has been fielded again from here.

It may be noted that Shanmugam contested in BJP seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls and came as the runner up. AIADMK’s B Senguttuvan is the incumbent MP of the constituency.

DMK has fielded party treasurer Durai Murugan’s son Kathir Anand this time. On behalf of AMMK, Pandurangam will be contesting from the seat. Post the delimitation in 2009, the Vellore Lok Sabha constituency comprises of Vellore, Anaicut, Kilvazhithunaiankuppam, Gudiyatham, Vaniyambadi and Ambur Assembly segments.

According to the 2009 census, the constituency had 1,010,067 voters.

NT Bureau