Rajya Sabha elections: AIADMK nominates former minister for seat

Chennai: The honchos of AIADMK went into a huddle at the party headquarters here today and decided on the party candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections.

Former minister Mohammed Jan and the party’s Mettur town secretary Chandrasekaran have been nominated to be the candidates.

The candidates were jointly announced by AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and party co-coordinator and Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami this morning.

As per the deal struck before the 2019 general elections, the AIADMK has left open a seat for the Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) which is part of its alliance.

As per the strength of the party in the Assembly, it will be able to send three members to the Rajya Sabha.

Six vacancies have risen in the Rajya Sabha from Tamilnadu with the end of term of five MPs and Kanomozhi becoming a member of the Lok Sabha where she contested from Thoothukudi and won with a handsome margin.

NT Bureau