TNPL finals between Dindigul and Madurai tomorrow


Chennai: TNPL, the month-long T20 carnival featuring franchise teams from within Tamilnadu, comes to close tomorrow.

A new champion will be crowned tomorrow when Dindigul Dragons meet Siechem Madurai Panthers in the finals at the MA Chidambaram Stadium here. However sudden downpour in the city since last night has bothered cricket-lovers here.

Dindigul is a strong batting unit. Captain N Jagadeesan is the third highest run-getter in the tournament with 345 runs (average 69). Opener Hari Nishaanth and middle-order batsman R Vivek (highest strike rate in the tournament) occupy the 6th and 7th spot respectively in the tournament’s run-tally.

Although they bowled well in the last match, they had a solid total to back them. The inexperienced bowling attack still has a point to prove.

Jagadeesan took over the leadership role following R Ashwin’s departure for the England Test series after three matches. Dragons have a tendency of losing quick wickets in the death overs. A poor finish may cost them the championship.


Meanwhile, Madurai is confident of a good show. Opener KB Arun Karthik starred in the team’s win over Lyca Kovai Kings and is in very good form. He is the tournament’s leading run-getter with 397 runs, including five fifties (average 66.17).

Their weakness is apart from Arun Karthik, no one else has been consistent with the bat for Madurai. Their second-highest run-getter has scored half of what Arun Karthik did (T Sargunam 191 runs).

They failed to defeat Dindigul even once in four meetings over three seasons. This is a golden chance to snap the losing streak. Their bowling was ineffective in Qualifier 1, they will have to come up with something new.

Top Three
 Top scorer: ARUN KARTHICK K B (Madurai) 397 runs
Most wickets: V ATHISAYARAJ DAVIDSON (Tuticorin) – 13 wickets
Highest Strike Rate: VIVEK R (Dindigul) – 216.52


So far
In 31 matches this edition, 9533 runs have been scored and 388 wickets have fallen