Arakkonam constituency: Will AIADMK retain its seat against DMK?

Chennai:  The Arakkonam Lok Sabha constituency was formed in 1977 prior to which it was part of Tiruttani.

Indian National Congress’ O V Alagesa Mudaliar was the first MP from the constituency.

The INC has been the most successful party from the constituency with five wins from 1977. The new boundary of the constituency was formed after delimitation in 2008.

AIADMK’s G Hari is the incumbent MP of the constituency.

PMK’s A K Moorthy from AIADMK alliance and DMK’s S Jagathrakshakan have been fielded in the constituency for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Jagathrakshakan was the MP of the constituency in 1999.

The Arakkonam Lok Sabha constituency comprises Tiruttani, Arakkonam, Sholinghur, Ranipet, Arcot and Katpadi Assembly segments.