AIADMK wants notice to dissenting MLAs withdrawn

Chennai: The AIADMK leadership has decided to urge the Speaker to withdraw the notice issued to three dissenting MLAs who earlier supported T T V Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) but recently moved to the parent party, the AIADMK.

Speaker P Dhanapal has issued notice to the the three MLAs representing Kallakurichi, Aranthangi and Vriddhachalam to explain their stand supporting Dhinakaran. When the MLAs moved the Supreme Court against the Speaker’s decision, they got a stay.

In the midst of these events, after the AMMK failed miserably in the 2019 parliamentary elections and Assembly by-elections and fear disqualification, the three MLAs: Kalaiselvan, Rathinasabapathy, and Prabhu, met Chief Minister Palaniswami separately and formally extended support to the ruling party.

The case against the Speaker’s decision is to come up for hearing in court 30 July. Before that the complainants have decided to withdraw the cases.

When the three MLAs were issued notice by the Speaker, he also sent a notice to AIADMK to respond on the issues.

According to reports, the ruling AIADMK would request the Speaker to forgive the MLAs’ action and withdraw the notices sent to them.