Karnataka: Yediyurappa expands Cabinet, inducts 17 ministers

Bengaluru: More than three weeks after he was sworn in as the Chief Minister, B S Yediyurappa today expanded his ministry by inducting 17 ministers into his Cabinet.

This is the first Cabinet expansion after he assumed office 26 July and proved his government’s majority on the floor of the Assembly 29 July.

The new ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Vala at Raj Bhavan here.

The ministers include former chief minister Jagadish Shettar, two former deputy chief ministers — K S Eshwarappa and R Ashoka — independent MLA H Nagesh and Laxman Sangappa Savadi, who is not a member of the Assembly or Council, and MLC Kota Srinivas Poojari.

Others sworn in were: Govind M Karajol, Ashwath Narayan C N, B Sreeramulu, S Suresh Kumar, V Somanna, C T Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, J C Madhu Swamy, C C Patil, Prabhu Chauhan and Shashikala Jolle Annasaheb, who is the only woman Cabinet Minister.

Karnataka can have a maximum of 34 Ministers, including the Chief Minister.