No decision yet on by-poll to 3 TN vacant Assembly constituencies

Chennai: Tamilnadu Chief Election Officer Sathyabrata Sahoo today said that no decision has been arrived at about conducting bypolls for the three vacant constituencies in the State.

He also said that the EVMs are however kept ready for the polls. Sahoo said that the Chepauk-Triplicane, Gudiyatham and Thiruvottiyur constituencies are vacant after the elected legislators passed away.

Chepauk- Triplicane MLA J Anbazhagan passed away due to coronavirus. Gudiyatham constituency MLA S Kathavarayan (58) died after a brief illness. Thiruvottiyur MLA K P P Samy passed away at his residence in Chennai after prolonged illness. It may be noted that all three MLAs were members of the main opposition DMK.