Yogi Adityanath takes oath as UP CM in Modi’s presence

New Delhi: Yogi Adityanath took oath as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the second time today in a grand event at Lucknow’s Ekana Stadium.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled States and senior BJP leaders also attended the oath-taking ceremony.

Yogi Adityanath will have two deputies, like before. Keshav Maurya, who lost the election, has been retained but Dinesh Sharma, who did not contest the election, has been replaced by Brajesh Pathak.

Pathak, a top Brahmin leader, was Law Minister in Yogi Adityanath’s first government. A former Lok Sabha MP, he switched to the BJP from Mayawati’s BSP in 2017.

The grand oath-taking ceremony was held at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. Massive preparations were on-going since Thursday for the ceremony.

A stage was set up with a massive banner featuring PM Modi, JP Nadda, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah and Yogi Adityanath. Reportedly, over 20,000 chairs were placed on the turf.