Counting of votes for K’taka elections today

After much political effervescence in the tightly-contested assembly elections in politically crucial Karnataka, all eyes are on the counting of votes today when the results will be declared.
According to the Election Commission (EC), Karnataka recorded a 73.19 per cent voter turnout in the May 10 assembly elections, the highest-ever voter turnout in the southern state.
Polling was held across 58,545 polling stations to elect the members in the 224-seat Karnataka Legislative Assembly.
The majority mark needed to form the government is 113. Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai exuded confidence in Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) return to power in Karnataka.
“There is no chance of a hung Assembly, we are going to form the government comfortably. We will have a legislature party meeting to decide the Chief Ministerial face,” Chief Minister Bommai told reporters.