Kanimozhi appointed as DMK Parliamentary party leader

In a surprising move that signals a significant shift in the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) leadership, Chief Minister and DMK president M K Stalin appointed Thoothukudi MP and DMK deputy general secretary Kanimozhi Karunanidhi as the leader of the DMK Parliamentary Party. This decision, announced on Monday, places Kanimozhi at the forefront of the party’s efforts in Delhi, elevating her role significantly within the party’s structure.

The announcement came as part of a broader reorganization of the DMK’s parliamentary leadership. While Kanimozhi will oversee the party’s activities in both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, party treasurer T R Baalu will serve as the leader of the DMK in the Lok Sabha. This new structure suggests a strategic move by the DMK to enhance their influence and coordination at the national level.

Key Appointments

Dayanidhi Maran: Central Chennai MP and former union minister, Dayanidhi Maran, has been appointed as the DMK deputy leader of the Lok Sabha. His experience and prominence within the party are expected to bolster the DMK’s presence in the lower house of Parliament.

A Raja: The party deputy general secretary and former union minister A Raja has been designated as the DMK whip in the Lok Sabha. His role will be crucial in ensuring party discipline and coherence among DMK MPs.

Tiruchy Siva: Continuing his role, party propaganda secretary Tiruchy Siva will remain the DMK leader in the Rajya Sabha, with LPF general secretary P Shanmugham acting as his deputy. Their roles will be vital in navigating the upper house’s legislative processes.

P Wilson: Senior advocate P Wilson will serve as the DMK whip in the Rajya Sabha, responsible for maintaining order and ensuring the party’s legislative agenda is advanced effectively.

S Jegathrakshakan: Another propaganda secretary, S Jegathrakshakan, has been appointed as the treasurer for the DMK in both houses,