2019 general elections: AIADMK allocates seven seats for PMK in alliance

Chennai: The Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) and AIADMK have sewn up the alliance for the upcoming general elections with seven seats being allotted to the PMK.

Announcing the deal after consultations this morning at a private hotel in Chennai, AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam said the PMK would be given seven seats in the “mega alliance” and “alliance for victory”.

Panneerselvam and PMK founder, Dr S Ramadoss, said they would later announce the names of the seven constituencies allotted for the party.

The Deputy Chief Minister said the AIADMK would be contesting in the by-polls for the 21 Assembly seats that are vacant in the State and that the PMK would extend its support.

Dr Ramadoss, his son Anbumani and co-coordinator and Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, among other ministers, were present at the media conference.

Ramadoss seconded the seat-sharing agreement and listed out their demands which included many environmental issues.

According to the pact, one Rajya Sabha seat has also been allocated for the PMK.

The party has one Member of Parliament now in Anbumani Ramadoss.

NT Bureau