Brisk polling in crucial Bengal by-election

Kolkata: Voting was underway in brisk manner for by-election to Bhabanipur Assembly seat, where West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is contesting from, along with two other constituencies – Jangipur and Samserganj seats in Murshidabad district. Meanwhile, voting for the by-election to Pipili assembly seat in Odisha’s Puri was also under way.

The voter turnout at the Bhabanipur constituency stood at 35.97 per cent at 1 pm today. Polling began at 7 am amid tight security and stringent Covid-19 measures. To ensure watertight security and peaceful polling in Bhabanipur, the Election Commission on Wednesday decided to bring in 20 more companies of Central Armed Police Personnel.

At Samserganj, a local TMC leader Anarul Haque has been arrested in connection with a bunch of bombs that were hurled in the Bengal constituency a few hours ahead of the bypolls.

The poll panel has received around 40 complaints regarding election rigging, threats, and influencing voters in the three constituencies. Out of this, the BJP has lodged around 23 complaints.