MP assembly polls: Cong, BJP camps face protests over ticket distribution

Supporters of poll aspirants from the ruling BJP and Opposition Congress in Madhya Pradesh who have failed to get tickets staged protests in different parts of the State even as both parties tried to downplay the resentment. The BJP has so far declared candidates for 228 out of the total 230 seats, while the Congress has declared names of 229 candidates for the assembly elections scheduled for November 17. On Sunday, supporters of former BJP MLA and ex-minister Umashankar Gupta raised slogans in front of State BJP president VD Sharma in Bhopal, demanding to replace party candidate Bhagwandas Sabnani, who is in the fray from the Bhopal South West constituency. Several office-bearers of the BJP from Bhopal South West wrote letters to the State unit chief demanding to field Gupta. Former BJP MLA from Tikamgarh, KK Shrivastava, resigned from the primary membership of the party expressing displeasure over ticket distribution in a letter addressed to the state BJP president.