Chennai police top brass revamp continues

In a significant reshuffle of the Chennai city police’s law and order wing, the State government has appointed new Additional Commissioners. This move follows the recent removal of the city police commissioner amid controversy surrounding BSP State unit chief K Armstrong.

Major Changes in Chennai Police Leadership:
New Additional Commissioners:
Asra Garg has been transferred from Chennai North to IG (North Zone).
Prem Anand Sinha has been transferred from Chennai South to IG (South Zone).
KS Narenthiran Nayar will take over as the new Additional Commissioner for Chennai North.
N Kannan will be the new Additional Commissioner for Chennai South.

State-Wide Police Leadership Changes:
Abin Dinesh Modak, formerly ADGP of the State Crime Records Bureau, is appointed as the new Commissioner.
A Amalraj is now the ADGP, Enforcement Bureau-CID.
Praveen Kumar Abhinapu, former Tirupur Commissioner, takes over as Salem Commissioner.
B Vijayakumari moves to IG, Armed Police.
S Lakshmi, previously IG, Armed Police, becomes the new Commissioner.
Other Significant Transfers:
Mahesh Kumar Agarwal is now ADGP, Armed Police, Chennai.
G Venkataraman, ADGP, Crime Branch-CID, moves to ADGP (Administration), office of DGP.
TS Anbu, IG, CB-CID, will additionally hold the post of ADGP, CB-CID.
Sanjay Kumar, ADGP, Cyber Crime wing, is posted as ADGP, Coastal Security Group.
Sandeep Mittal takes over as ADGP, Cyber Crime wing.
HM Jayaram, ADGP, Armed Police, is now ADGP, State Crime Records Bureau.
DGP Rajeev Kumar, previously on vacancy reserve, is appointed as DGP, Crime against Women and Children, Chennai.
R Tamil Chandran, former ADGP, Crime against Women and Children, is now ADGP, Technical Services.
This comprehensive reshuffle aims to address the recent administrative challenges and enhance the efficiency of the law enforcement machinery across Chennai and other key regions in Tamil Nadu.