As petition is withdrawn, will there be by-poll in Ottapidaram?

The Madras High Court has ruled that by-election can be held in Ottapidaram, which the Election Commission had excluded from the by-polls to be held 18 April along with 18 other constituencies in Tamilnadu. Continue Reading

2019 parliamentary elections: AIADMK manifesto at a glance

The AIADMK promised today a slew of measures in its manifesto, including a national poverty eradication initiative that will be named after former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa. Continue Reading

2019 general elections: DMK manifesto at a glance

Stalin said steps would be taken for implementing reservation in the private sector. The party also assured steps for waiver of all educational loans taken by students. Continue Reading

2019 general elections: Panneerselvam releases AIADMK manifesto

AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam today unveiled the party’s manifesto for the 2019 general elections. The party is facing the polls in the alliance of the BJP, PMK, TMC and other parties. Continue Reading

2019 general elections: DMK prez Stalin releases party manifesto

The DMK manifesto, released here this morning by party president M K Stalin at party headquarters Kalaignar Arangam, touched upon several key issues that according to it, affect the State. Continue Reading

Heirline fracture

The candidates lists, released so far by almost all parties in Tamilnadu, have names of kin of top leaders. While the DMK has fielded a whopping number of six heirs (out of its 20 contestants), the AIADMK has pitted four wards of its seniors. Continue Reading

2019 elections: Just 3 women candidates fielded by DMK, AIADMK 

Political observer Krishnan feels that voters still equate leadership with masculinity and approach women candidates warily, giving them scant respect. Continue Reading

2019 LS polls: There are 12 new faces among 20 DMK candidates

The DMK announced former Union ministers Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and T R Baalu and its Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi among its candidates for the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies it is contesting in the 2019 general elections. A total of 12 candidates are new faces in the list. Continue Reading

2019 general elections: AIADMK names six sitting MPs in its list of contestants

After holding crucial discussions and making last-minute changes, Dravidian major AIADMK yesterday announced the candidates list for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The list contains many prominent names and some new faces as well. Continue Reading

2019 general elections: DMDK’s Premalatha says candidates list will be announced today

The DMDK has been allotted four seats in the parliamentary elections and it has pledged support to the AIADMK for the by-elections to the Assembly that are being held along with the general elections 18 April.  Continue Reading