Jhulan, Heather Knight, Morgan join MCC World Cricket Committee

Legendary India fast bowler Jhulan Goswami, England women’s captain Heather Knight and 2019 Men’s ODI World Cup winning captain Eoin Morgan have joined the MCC World Cricket Committee, said the Marylebone Cricket Club on Monday. Jhulan, a Padma Shri, and Arjuna Awardee, is often regarded as one of the fastest bowlers in the women’s game. She represented India in 12 Tests, 204 ODIs, and 68 T20Is from 2002 to 2022, picking 355 wickets across formats, the most by any bowler in women’s international cricket. She also won the ICC Women’s Player of the Year award in 2007 and rose to number one in the ICC Women’s ODI bowling rankings in January 2016. Jhulan was also the captain of the Indian women’s cricket team from 2008 to 2011. In ODIs, she picked 255 wickets, a record in women’s international cricket. Jhulan played for India in five Women’s ODI World Cups – 2005, 2009, 2013, 2017 and 2022. She remains the leading wicket-taker in the history of the Women’s Cricket World Cups with 43 scalps and was made an Honorary Life Member of MCC in April this year. Heather has captained England since 2016 and lifted the Women’s ODI World Cup at Lord’s only a year after taking on the role. The all-rounder has been one of the trailblazers for the women’s game in England, scoring over 5,000 international runs in white-ball cricket, and 705 runs in her ten Test matches.