Prime Minister Narendra Modi to hold 15 bilateral meetings during G 20

Chennai: PM Narendra Modi is likely to hold 15 bilateral meetings during G20 summit, sources said. Among those he will hold one-on-one discussions with include US President Joe Biden and France’s Emmanuel Macron.

Sources said PM Modi will hold bilateral meetings with the US president and the Bangladeshi prime minister on Friday at his official residence. He will also hold a meeting with the leader of Mauritius.

On Saturday, he will hold bilateral meetings with the leaders of the UK, Japan, Germany and Italy besides attending the G20 events.

On the final day of the G20 summit, the Prime Minister will hold a working lunch with French President Emmanuel Macron.

He will do a pull-aside meeting with Canada’s Justin Trudeau and hold bilateral meetings with Comoros, Turkiye, UAE, South Korea, EU/EC, Brazil and Nigeria, say sources.

The two-day G20 Summit will begin in New Delhi tomorrow and will witness several discussions on issues ailing the world.

Meanwhile, Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni, Argentine President Alberto Fern√°ndez and IMF chief Kristalina Georgieva are among the top leaders who arrived in the national capital on Friday morning for the G20 summit.

The G20 leaders will deliberate on pressing global issues at the grouping’s annual summit here on September 9 and 10. India is hosting the summit in its capacity as the current G20 chair.

The leaders of the influential grouping are being welcomed at the airport with cultural performances.

On her arrival, a visibly excited Georgieva danced to the beat of music at the airport.

Under its G20 presidency, India has been focusing on various issues such as inclusive growth, digital innovation, climate resilience and equitable global health access.

The G20 member countries represent around 85 per cent of the global GDP, over 75 per cent of the global trade and about two-thirds of the world population.

The grouping comprises Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, the US and the European Union (EU).